Chesapeake Bay Project

Chesapeake Bay Project
These resources will help you and your team in addressing sources of vulnerability
in the Chesapeake Bay and help you create solutions related to your topic.

 

Key Resources At a Glance: 

 Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center is an excellent source of information on biology, life science, environmental science, technology, wildlife and more. Search results can be printed, emailed or saved to a personal folder.
 
SIRS Knowledge Source provides a collection of 6 databases for students in grade 6-12. Full-text articles, graphics, photographs, government documents, primary sources, ebooks, and previewed websites.
 
Discovery Education provides video segments and photographs of many historical and cultural events.
 
Gale Virtual Reference Library provides print encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Search results can be printed, emailed or saved to a personal folder.
 
Marshall Cavendish Digital  eBook versions of our popular print reference books.

Below are a list of possible Chesapeake Bay sites to use, besides the databases, for your research.

You can use these or use the
search engine www.onekey.com to search. You should not be on any other search engine, or any non-bay related sites. 

Submerged Auquatic Vegetation in Chesapeake Bay and Coastal Bay:  www.vims.edu/bio/sav/BayAreaChart.htm 

Chesapeake Bay Report:  www.eco-check.org/reportcard/chesapeake/2007/

Maryland Sea Grant:  http://www.mdsg.umd.edu/

New York Invasive Species:  http://www.aquaticinvaders.org/

A Watershed Partnership:  http://www.chesapeakebay.net/

Chesapeake Bay, Maryland:  http://www.msa.md.gov/msa/mdmanual/01glance/html/ches.html

Chesapeake Bay Foundation:  http://www.cbf.org/

Maryland BayStat:  http://www.baystat.maryland.gov/  (this is one of my favorites)

Chesapeake Bay News- The Baltimore Sun:  http://www.baltimoresun.com/topic/us/maryland/chesapeake-bay-PLREC000053.topic

The Daily Beast- Two Million Dead Fish in MD:  http://www.thedailybeast.com/cheat-sheet/item/2-million-dead-fish-in-maryland/pet-cemetery/

USGS- U.S. Geological Survey:  http://water.usgs.gov/wid/html/chesbay.html

The Washington Post- Health Worries Over Bay Polution:  http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2006/08/02/AR2006080201990.html

Chesapeake Bay Field Office:  http://www.fws.gov/chesapeakebay/EndSppWeb/lists/index.htm

Chesapeake Bay News:  http://www.chesapeake-bay.org/

Washington Times- Chesapeake Bay's Health Not Clear to Everyone:  http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2009/sep/26/chesapeake-bays-health-not-clear-to-everyone/  

Maryland Stream Health:  http://www.streamhealth.maryland.gov/ (this is one of my favorites)

Maryland Department of Natural Resources:  http://www.dnr.state.md.us/ (this is one of my favorites)

Maryland Marine Notes:  http://www.mdsg.umd.edu/MarineNotes/


Group Collaborative Resource
:

Edmodo

 Reference Print Resources:

OPAC Catalog

Citation Generators

 Son of Citation Maker  Easy Bib  O.P.E.N