Suzanne Dashiell-Elder

Job Title: 

Teacher

Name: 

Suzanne Dashiell

Department: 

Science

My name is Suzanne Dashiell Elder. Most people here just call me "Dr. D."  This is my 11th year at UHS, and my 15th year of teaching overall. I received my Bachelor of Science degree in Physiology and Neuroscience at Rutgers University. I also have my Masters and Doctorate degrees in Medical Pathology from the University of Maryland School of Medicine and have experience as a Research Scientist at the NIH. I have Advanced Teaching Certification in both Biology and Chemistry, and have taught most levels of both here at UHS. I am very involved in STEM extracurricular activities for students, and was the recipient of the 2012 STEM Teacher of the Year.  Feel free to contact me anytime!



Fall Semester 2014-2015
Block 1 - Planning
Block 2 - AP Biology
Block 3 - AP Biology
Block 4 - Merit Biology

Clubs Sponsored
Science National Honor Society - meets Block 1
Science Academic Team - meets Wednesdays after school
International Brain Bee - times to be determined for Spring 2015
Biology Olympiad - administered in February 2015

 

Relevant Links

Textbook online portal for AP Biology:
http://bcs.whfreeman.com/pol1e      

apcentral.collegeboard.com/apc/public/courses/teachers_corner/2117.html

www.pearsonsuccessnet.com       Use this for your assignments in Biology (Honors/Merit)

www.pbs.org/ Interactive site by PBS

www.fcps.edmodo.com

                  Announcements/Homework


Monday, August 25, 2014

AP Biology - Get forms signed.  Register on websites.

Merit Biology - Get forms signed.  Register on websites.  Obtain spiral notebook.

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

AP Biology - Biological Molecules worksheet.

Merit Biology - Forms signed/notebook.  Active Reading Worksheet.

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

AP Biology - Onliine Chapter 2 Quiz.  Due Friday.

Merit Biology -Forms signed/notebook.  Chapter 2 worksheet.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

AP Biology - Online Chapter 2 Quiz due

Merit Biology - Forms signed/notebook.

Friday, August 29, 2014

AP Biology - Review Packet for quiz.  Quiz on Tuesday on Chapter 2.

Merit Biology - Nature of Science quiz on Tuesday.


Tuesday, September 2, 2014

AP Biology - Carbohydrates reading guide - due Thursday.

Merit Biology - plan experiment.  Nature of Science quiz on Thursday; CRES on Friday.

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

AP Biology - Carbohydrates reading guide due tomorrow.  Lipids reading guide due Friday.

Merit Biology - Quiz Thursday; CRES on Friday.

Thursday, September 4, 2014

AP Biology - Lipids reading guide due tomorrow.

Merit Biology - CRES tomorrow.  Cow Eye Lab due tomorrow.

Friday, September 5, 2014

AP Biology - Proteins reading guide.  Test next Wednesday.

Merit Biology - none.

Monday, September 8, 2014

AP Biology - Study for test.
 
Merit Biology - Chapter 4 worksheet.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

AP Biology - Study for test.

Merit Biology - none.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

AP Biology -none.

Merit Biology - none.

Thursday, September 11, 2014

AP Biology - none.

Merit Biology - none.

Friday, September 12, 2014

AP Biology - 2 reading guides on enzymes.

Merit Biology - finish any classwork.

Monday, September 15, 2014

AP Biology - Enzymes worksheet.

Merit Biology - Active Reading (carbs) Worksheet.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

AP Biology - finish lab questions.

Merit Biology - study for quiz on carbohydrates.

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

AP Biology -Enzyme Inhibitors worksheet.

Merit Biology - finish lab questions.

Thursday, September 18, 2014

AP Biology - Metabolic Pathways worksheet/Bioportal questions.

Merit Biology -  Directed Reading worksheet.

Monday, September 22, 2014

AP Biology - study for test.

Merit Biology - study for quiz.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

AP Biology - study for test.

Merit Biology - none.

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

AP Biology - Animal Nutrition reading guide.  Inquiry labs due Friday.

Merit Biology - none.

Friday, September 26, 2014


AP Biology - Digestive System worksheet.

Merit Biology - worksheet.

**AS OF OCTOBER 1, 2014, I WILL NO LONGER BE POSTING HOMEWORK ON THIS PAGE.  PLEASE GO TO YOUR CLASSES' EDMODO WEBPAGE FOR HW POSTINGS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS.**


240-236-7659