Social Studies Department

Joseph Blaser
joseph.blaser@fcps.org
240-236-7767

Semester 1

Block 1 - Planning
Block 2 - Money, Finance & Economics
Block 3 - IB Americas
Block 4 - American Studies 2

Semester 2

Block 1 - Planning
Block 2 - Mondern World History
Block 3 - IB Americas
Block 4 - Money, Finance & Economics
 

Justin Absher
justin.absher@fcps.org
240-236-7667

Semester 1

Block 1 - AP World History
Block 2 - Mondern World History
Block 3 - IB European History
Block 4 - Planning

Semester 2

Block 1 - Philosophy of Knowledge
Block 2 - Planning
Block 3 - IB European History
Block 4 - AP World History

Charles Hontz
charles.hontz@fcps.org
240-236-7769



Semester 1

Block 1 - Planning
Block 2 - 1945 To Present
Block 3 -  Modern World History
Block 4 - AP US History

Semester 2

Block 1 - 1945 To Present
Block 2 - AP US History
Block 3 - Modern World History
Block 4 - Planning

Andy Brown
edward.brown@fcps.org
240-236-7668

Semester 1

Block 1 - Sociology
Block 2 - Planning
Block 3 - Modern World History
Block 4 - Sociology

Semester 2

Block 1 - AP Human Geography
Block 2 - Sociology
Block 3 - Planning
Block 4 - Sociology

Alison Bolyard
alison.bolyard@fcps.org
240-236-7666

Department Chair



Semester 1

Block 1 - AP Psychology
Block 2 - AP Government
Block 3 - AP Psychology
Block 4 - Planning

Semester 2

Block 1 - Planning
Block 2 - AP Psychology
Block 3 - Psychology
Block 4 - AP Psychology

 

Norman Crosby
norman.crosby@fcps.org
240-236-7669



Semester 1

Block 1 - AP US History (1 SEM)
Block 2 - American Studies 2
Block 3 - AP US History
Block 4 - Planning

Semester 2

Block 1 - Planning
Block 2 - American Studies 2
Block 3 - AP Seminar
Block 4 - AP US History (1 SEM)

 

Fritz Baclawski
joseph.baclawski@fcps.org
240-236-7696



Semester 1

Block 1 - American Studies 2
Block 2 - American Studies 2
Block 3 - Planning
Block 4 - American Studies 2

Semester 2

Block 1 - American Studies 2
Block 2 - World War 2
Block 3 - American Studies 2
Block 4 - Planning

 

Patricia Smallwood
patricia.smallwood@fcps.org
240-236-7768



Semester 1

Block 1 - Law & Society
Block 2 - Government
Block 3 - Planning
Block 4 - Government

Semester 2

Block 1 - Government
Block 2 - Government
Block 3 - Planning
Block 4 - Government

 

Nathan Kachur
nathan.kachur@fcps.org
240-236-7673



Semester 1

Block 1 - Planning
Block 2 - AP Microeconomics
Block 3 - AP World History
Block 4 - AP & IB Macroeconomics

Semester 2

Block 1 - AP Macroeconomics
Block 2 - AP World History
Block 3 - Planning
Block 4 - AP & IB Microeconomics
 

Matthew Ferrante
matthew.ferrante@fcps.org
240-236-7663



Semester 1

Block 1 - Modern World History
Block 2 - Planning
Block 3 - Ancient & Medieval History
Block 4 - Modern World History

Semester 2

Block 1 - Modern World History
Block 2 - Modern World History
Block 3 - AP Euro
Block 4 - Planning

Joanna Nicklas
joanna.spangler@fcps.org
240-236-7665



Semester 1

Block 1 - Government
Block 2 - Planning
Block 3 - Government
Block 4 - AP Government

Semester 2

Block 1 - AP Government 9
Block 2 - Planning
Block 3 - AP Government 9
Block 4 - Government

 

Susan Levin
susan.levin@fcps.org
240-236-7699



Semester 1

Block 1 - American Studies 2
Block 2 - Government
Block 3 - Government
Block 4 - Planning

Semester 2

Block 1 - Government
Block 2 - Planning
Block 3 - History of Frederick
Block 4 - American Studies 2
 

Stephen Tuel
stephen.tuel@fcps.org
240-236-7600



Semester 1   n/a

Semester 2

Block 1 - Government
Block 2 - Government
Block 3 - Planning
Block 4 - Modern World History