MVMPCS is run by a Governing Council consisting of parents, the principal, staff representatives, and members of the Frederick community. This Governing Council not only serves as our School Improvement Team (SIT), required by the FCPS charter school policy, but also serves as the policy making body for MVMPCS. This independence is a result of our status as a charter school and allows us to develop policies necessary to realize the goals of our school’s charter and meet the needs of our families. This is a truly unique opportunity within the public school system.

The parent positions on the GC are filled by parents of current MVMPCS students. Elections for these positions are held every fall as current members’ two year terms expire in rotation. All parents are eligible to run if they collect ten signatures of other parents and/or staff supporting their nomination. Staff elects their own representatives. GC meetings are open to all parents and staff; minutes are published on our Google groups School News Forum.

All members of the MVMPCS community—parents, staff, founders whose children are not yet school age—are automatically members of Monocacy Montessori Communities, Inc. (MMCI). This nonprofit membership corporation is the legal entity which originated the application and holds the charter (or contract) with the Frederick County Board of Education. It is responsible for our compliance with the charter agreement and negotiating any necessary changes or amendments to the charter. It also runs and funds all support programs that serve our school community, such as before and after care. It leases our current building and will find our new location. All members of MMCI are eligible to run for positions as officers of MMCI as the incumbents’ terms expire in rotation.

Much of the work of the GC and MMCI is carried out by parents and teachers working on a large number of committees—library, volunteer, building & grounds, strategic planning, staffing, community outreach/hospitality, communications and fundraising. Parents, faculty and staff are urged to join a committee and help in the development and continuing operation of the school. Parental involvement is critical to the success of the school.

Governance Contacts

Governing Council Members
Deb Korth,  GC Chair person
´╗┐Deborah Knox-Teitel,  GC Secretary
Theresa Shrader,  Parent Representative
Carol Furlow,  Parent Representative 
Elizabeth Landru,  Friend of Education
Vacant, Friend of Education
Nancy Radkiewicz,  Principal
Maureen Capillo,  Staff Representative
Ashley Madden,  Staff Representative
MMCI Board of Trustees
Melissa Najera, President 
Kathleen Lutrell, Vice President for MVMPCS
Brian McCrohan, Vice President for CCMPCS
Meg de Guzman, Secretary 
Vacant, Treasurer
Vacant, Assistant Treasurer 
Erin Frank, Parent Trustee, MVMPCS
Jeff Koehler, Parent Trustee, MVMPCS
Jen Nichols, Parent Trustee, MVMPCS
James Kleimola, Parent Trustee, CCMPCS
Matthew Mills, Parent Trustee, CCMPCS
Adam Kenney, Parent Trustee, CCMPCS
Michael Cannarozzi, Friend of Education
Yvette Rood, Friend of Education
Deb Korth, MVMPCS GC Chair (Non-voting)
Amy Duvall, CCMPCS GC Chair (Non-voting)