Welcome to Catoctin High School

Catoctin High School's 50th Anniversary Year


CHS has formed a 50th anniversary planning committee. We are looking for memorabilia from the last 50 years that we can photograph, scan, and/or display in the school next year. The lobby will be "rejuvenated" this summer to display items from each decade. This is a GREAT opportunity to share your fondest memories from your high school years with the current generation!

In addition to the above, we are looking for families where multiple generations have graduated from Catoctin High School. If you are or are the parent/guardian of a student enrolled at CHS who is a member of a CHS multigeneration family, please visit the website below to find out how to contribute to our celebration this year!

Please visit our 50th Annivesrary Website for more information on how you can contribute to Catoctin's year-long celebration!


Envirothon Teams Place First, Second at County Competition 

The first team "Primary Successors" won first place overall and first place in all five categories. The 2nd team "Gato Montes" won second overall and secnd in Forestry, 3rd in Wildlife and Aquatics categories.
They will be competing in the State Envirothon on June 14-15 in Garrett County MD.
1st Team   Zach Carter, Samantha Grimes, Edison Hatter, Jimmy Kempity, Devin Shorb 
2nd Team Sophia DeGennaro, Kallan Latham, Isabel Rozo, Karianna Strickhouser, Fernajen Tundag, 
Alternate - Madison Raimondi

Senior Solomon Weisgerber Recognized with Student Peace Award of Frederick County

Each year, high schools in Frederick County are invited to choose one of their students to receive the Student Peace Award of Frederick County. The purpose of the award is to honor students who are helping to make our world a better place by promoting the values of peacemaking, conflict resolution, and respect for all people. Senior Solomon Weisgerber was selected as this year's recipient of the Student Peace Award of Frederick County representing Catotcin High School. Congratulations to Solomon!

CHS Unified Track and Field Places First at County Championship

On Tuesday, April 23, the Cougars placed first in the Monocacy Division of the Ninth Annual Frederick County Unified Track and Field Championship. Athletes represented 10 area high schools for the event. Catoctin was in the Monocacy division with Frederick, Governor Thomas Johnson, Oakdale, and a combined team of Brunswick and Linganore. CHS had 17 team members of the 80 athletes that competed. Awesome job team! In the Monocacy Division, our Cougars gave all of their heart and hustled to bring home the gold!

CHS Unified Bocce Wins Gold and Bronze at Counties,

Seventh Place at States

Kim Shields and Captain Kaleb Welch read Athlete Oath during Opening Ceremony at State Championship

Team One for the CHS Unified Bocce team (Bri Kaas, Caleigh Laprad, Kaleb Welch, Lauren Ames, Kim Shields, Maddie Krantz, Savannah Smith-Sanchez, Grace Mazaleski, and Emily DeWees) brought home the county Gold while Team Two (Mackenzie Perhach, Summer Clausen, Grace Kovalcik, Aden Myles, Emmalynn May, Jordan Kaas, Alex Keefer, Megan Eiker, Max Bingman, Natalie Bosche, and Seana Peter; Riley Flick: manager) brought home the county Bronze on January 31. At the State Tournament on February 13, Kim Shields and Captain Kaleb Welch represented Catoctin proudly by reading the Athlete Oath during the Opening Ceremony. In the end, the Catoctin Unified Bocce team placed seventh! Way to go, Cougars!


Sophomore Owen Bubczyk Named CHS Hugh O'Brien Youth Leadership Award Winner

Sophomore Owen Bubczyk is Catoctin's 2017-2018 HOBY (Hugh O'Brian Youth Leadership) award winner. Owen is the son of Brandi and Bryan Bubczyk of Thurmont. Owen will attend the leadership conference at Mount St. Mary's University over Memorial Day weekend. Congratulations, Owen!


Football and Cheerleading Donate to the Patty Hurwitz Fund

CHS Football & Cheerleading donated $1447.00 to the Patty Hurwitz Breast Cancer Fund at FMH with proceeds raised from T-shirt sales and cash collected at their third annual PINK OUT games on October 13th and 18th. Representing CHS Football is Jacob McIlvaine, Tyler Hauk, Ryan Reid, Chase Wilhelm and Corey Andrew. The donation was presented to Patty Hurwitz (also photographed) at the November 14th Thurmont Town meeting.

Congratulations to the recipients of the
2017 Catoctin High School
Distinguished Graduate Award

Pictured from left to right: Rebecca Yates Shorb (former Catoctin staff), Paul Nolan (former Catoctin staff), Meaghan (Eyler) Delawter (academic), John West (athletics), Dr. Richard Love (business), Ryan Rippeon (military service), Scott Hahn (public service), Michael Gray (arts/ humanities)

Catoctin High School Athletics

Recipients of the 2016-2017
Central-Maryland Conference
Sportsmanship Award

 Catoctin Envirothon Teams:

Team Mudcats Place Fourth Overall in State Competition

(from left to right) Devin Shorb, Ron Albaugh (retired MHS Envirothon coach), Alyssa Baker, Jimmy Kempisty, Brietta Latham, Ms. Wells

Two CHS Teams Place
First and Third at County Competition

(from left to right) Fernajen Tundag, Alyssa Baker, Ms. Wells, Jessica Leach, Devin Shorb, Jimmy Kempisty, Edison Hatter, Zack Carter, Samantha Grimes, Brietta Latham, Karianna Strickhouser, Kallan Latham, Brittan Sweeney

Catoctin HS Circa. 1969

media center