Skip to main content

English Department

David Britton
david.britton@fcps.org
240-236-7694

Department Chair



Semester 1

Block 1 - English 101
Block 2 - IB English
Block 3 - Planning
Block 4 - English 101

Semester 2

Block 1 - Film Studies
Block 2 - IB English
Block 3 - Planning
Block 4 - English 10 Honors
 

Brittany Garst
brittany.garst@fcps.org
240-236-7660

Reading Specialist



Semester 1

Block 1 - Planning
Block 2 - Reading Specialist
Block 3 - Reading 180
Block 4 - English 12 Merit

Semester 2

Block 1 - English 10 Honors
Block 2 - Planning
Block 3 - English 9 Merit
Block 4 - Reading Specialist

Janet Maldonado
janet.maldonado@fcps.org
240-236-7733

The Hawkeye Newspaper Advisor



Semester 1

Block 1 - Journalism 
Block 2 - English 11 Merit
Block 3 - English 11 Honors
Block 4 - Planning

Block 1 - English 10 Honors
Block 2 - Critical Writing
Block 3 - English 10 Honors

Stephen Ward
stephen.ward@fcps.org
240-236-7664

UHS Mini-Thon Advisor



Semester 1

Block 1 - AP Literature
Block 2 - English 9 Merit
Block 3 - English 9 Merit
Block 4 - Planning

 

Kristen Rowe
kristen.rowe@fcps.org
240-236-7697



Semester 1

Block 1 - English 10 Honors
Block 2 - English 10 Merit
Block 3 - Planning
Block 4 - English 10 Honors

Semester 2

Block 1 - English 9 Honors
Block 2 - English 10 Honors
Block 3 - Planning
Block 4 - English 9 Honors

 

Teresa Svincek
teresa.svincek@fcps.org
240-236-7661



Semester 1

Block 1 - English 9 Honors
Block 2 - English 9 Honors
Block 3 - AP Language
Block 4 - Planning

Semester 2

Block 1 - AP Language
Block 2 - English 12 Merit
Block 3 - Planning
Block 4 - English 12 Merit

 

Del Hayes
john.hayes@fcps.org
240-236-7701



Semester 1

Block 1 - English 11 Honors
Block 2 - English 11 Honors
Block 3 - Planning
Block 4 - English 12 Merit

Semester 2

Block 1 - Planning
Block 2 - AP Literature
Block 3 - English 9 Honors
Block 4 - AP Literature

Sarah Yoder
sarah.yoder@fcps.org
240-236-7702



Semester 1

Block 1 - AP Language
Block 2 - English 9 Merit
Block 3 - Planning
Block 4 - AP Language

Semester 2

Block 1 - English 9 Honors
Block 2 - English 9 Honors
Block 3 - English 11 Honors
Block 4 - Planning
 

Sarah Yinger
sarah.yinger@fcps.org
240-236-7689



Semester 1

Block 1 - Planning
Block 2 - English 12 Merit
Block 3 - English 9 Honors
Block 4 - English 9 Honors

Semester 2

Block 1 - English 11 Merit
Block 2 - Planning
Block 3 - English 11 Merit
Block 4 - English 11 Honors

Robin Shortall
robin.shortall@fcps.org
240-236-7698



Semester 1

Block 1 - IB English
Block 2 - Planning
Block 3 - English 10 Merit
Block 4 - English 11 Honors

Semester 2

Block 1 - IB English
Block 2 - Planning
Block 3 - English 11 Honors
Block 4 - English 10 Merit

Donna Ross
donna.ross@fcps.org
240-236-7770

Semester 1

Block 1 - Planning
Block 2 - English 10 Honors
Block 3 - English 10 Honors
Block 4 - English 11 Merit

Semester 2

Block 1 - English 11 Honors
Block 2 - English 11 Honors
Block 3 - AP Language
Block 4 - Planning

 

Barb Cameron
barbara.cameron@fcps.org
240-236-7692

Semester 1

Block 1 - English 10 Honors
Block 2 - Planning
Block 3 - English 10 Honors
Block 4 - English 9 Honors

Semester 2

Block 1 - Planning
Block 2 - English 9 Merit
Block 3 - English 10 Honors
Block 4 - English 9 Merit